Fiji Excellence in Tourism Awards celebrates the outstanding performance of those who have made exceptional contributions to our tourism industry.


In 1991 with the introduction of the first Tourism Week, the Fiji Visitors Bureau and the Ministry of Tourism introduced the first Excellence in Tourism Awards sponsored by the Fiji Times, there were 10 Awards Winners. The presentation was in Suva with the Awards presented by the Hon. Josevata Kamikamica. The winners were:

1. Visionary Award 6. Barperson of the Year Award
    Dick Smith     Emele Tubailagi
2. Environment & Culture 7. Chef of the Year Award
    Late Ratu Leone Lesi     Raymond Lee
3. Hospitality & Accommodation Award 8. Honoured for his dedication to the Community
    Margaret Thaggard     Sirilo Damudamu
4. Food & Beverage Award 9. Micellaneous Award
    Eparama Mociu     Alivereti Bogiva
5. Wine Steward of the Year Award 10. Jointly Honoured in Sports
    Mere Kasaga     John May & Mick Beddoes
Many years passed until 1997 when the Fiji Visitors Bureau under the directorship of Sitiveni Yaqona and Bill Whiting decided the Awards should be re introduced. As Dick Smith had been the first person to win the Visionary Award, he was appointed the Chairman of the Board of Trustees by the then Minister for Tourism and Transport, the late Mr. David Pickering. They were: Adi Lady Lala Mara Mr. Bill Cruickshank Mr. Bob Dods Mr. Gerald Barrack Since then the Fiji Excellence in Tourism awards is run annually by a voluntary committee of industry members, overseen by the Board of Trustees to invite nominations & applications, organise judging and hold a gala event for the prize giving to honor those outstanding members in our industry.


To recognise individuals and organisations who have gone that extra mile to develop National Tourism and in so doing, have inspired others to share their vision of a buoyant and enduring service industry of supreme national importance.