Debra Sadranu is the new and first-ever female chair to be appointed

July 12, 2022

Nadi, 25 May 2022 – Debra Sadranu is the new and first-ever female chair to be appointed to the Fiji Excellence in Tourism Awards (FETA) – Board of Trustees in its 31-year history. The committee met in Nadi today for the first time this year and made the exciting announcement.

Thrilled with the news of her appointment, the founder and managing director of Essence Group Fiji, Debra Sadranu said she can’t wait to get underway with the resurrection of the Tourism Awards.

“It really is an honour for me to be appointed as chair and to be the first woman to take up the role is definitely a bonus! As I step into the role, I’d like to acknowledge the great work of my predecessor, Mr Bill Whiting, and his team for really laying a great, solid foundation for all the activities planned for this year, including the FETA awards,” Debra said.

The FETA was established in 1991 with a mission to recognise individuals and organisations, who’ve gone the extra mile to develop national tourism and inspire others to share their vision of bettering Fiji’s tourism industry.

Each year a committee is formed to organise and host the FETA awards, which celebrate the outstanding performance of those in our tourism industry that have made exceptional contributions to the industry.

“We only just had our first meeting today but already we’ve had an influx of great new and fresh ideas and perspectives for next year’s awards, and I am looking forward to getting into action with the support of my team,” she added.

Trustees also include Bill Whiting, Craig Powell, Brent Hill, Kameli Batiweti, Brad Rutherford and Fantasha Lockington.